The 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

10 Oct 2019

Is awarded to John Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino  “for the development of lithium-ion batteries”. This lightweight, rechargeable and powerful battery is now used in everything from mobile phones to laptops and electric vehicles. It can also store significant amounts of energy from solar and wind power, making possible a fossil fuel-free society. Their discoveries brought the greatest benefit to humankind.


More info at the Nobel Prize webpage.

More articles

All articles

You are running an old browser version. We recommend updating your browser to its latest version.